April 2, 2018


Two Oregon State University Honors students in the College of Science have been recognized by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation for 2018.

Delaney Smith, 2018 Goldwater Scholar (and 2017 Honorable Mention)

Junior, Honors Biochemistry and Biophysics/Education, minor in Chemistry

Kendra Jackson, 2018 Goldwater Honorable Mention

Sophomore, Honors Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ms. Smith is the only Goldwater scholar selected from an Oregon institution this year.

Mrs. Peggy Goldwater Clay, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, announced that the Trustees awarded 211 scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year to undergraduate sophomores and juniors from the United States. An additional 281 nominees were named as Honorable Mentions. More on the 2018 Goldwater scholars: https://goldwater.scholarsapply.org/2018-scholars-by-institution-state/  and Honorable Mentions: https://goldwater.scholarsapply.org/2018-honorable-mentions-by-institution-state/

The Goldwater Scholars were selected based on academic merit from a field of 1,280 natural sciences, mathematics, and engineering students nominated by the campus representatives from colleges and universities nationwide. Of those reporting, 110 of the Scholars are men, 99 are women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their highest degree objective. Twenty-nine Scholars are mathematics and computer science majors, 142 are majoring in the natural sciences, and 40 are majoring in engineering. Many of the Scholars have dual majors in a variety of mathematics, science, engineering, and computer science.

The one and two year scholarships will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

Goldwater Scholars have very impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 91 Rhodes Scholarships, 131 Marshall Awards, 150 Churchill Scholarships, 100 Hertz Fellowships and numerous other distinguished awards like the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on November 14, 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the preeminent undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

The Goldwater Scholarship is administered at Oregon State University through LeAnn Adam, OSU Coordinator for Prestigious Scholarships and a standing OSU Goldwater Scholarship committee. For more information, please visit: topscholars.oregonstate.edu

Since its first award in 1989, the Foundation has as of 2018 bestowed 8,132 scholarships worth approximately 65 million dollars.


For more information, please contact:

LeAnn Joy Adam

OSU Coordinator for Prestigious Scholarships