Award Details 

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship is awarded to outstanding sophomores or juniors who are studying mathematics, natural sciences, or engineering and who intend to pursue a research career. The award provides up to $7,500 per year of a maximum of two years for undergraduate tuition, fees, books, and housing expenses. 

Application Timeline 

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship requires institutional nomination and endorsement. Please contact LeAnn Adam to discuss your interest in applying.

First Tuesday of September: online application opens; complete pre-application 
October - December: Prepare application, consult with references, seek feedback from our office
December 18, 2020: OSU Campus deadline 
January 6, 2021: References are due
January: OSU selects four nominees (OSU may nominate a fifth student if we select a transfer student); Nominations due from OSU to the Goldwater Foundation the last Friday in January
March: Scholars announced 

OSU Contact 

LeAnn Adam 
OSU Coordinator for National and Global Scholarships Advising
[email protected]

  • Past Recipients



Field of Study

Goldwater Scholar/
Honorable Mention

2020 Yesh Godse Computer Science Goldwater Scholar
2020 Tucker Holstun Chemical Engineering Goldwater Scholar
2019 Ryan Tollefsen Physics and Mathematics Goldwater Scholar
2019 Kendra Jackson Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Goldwater Scholar
2019 Isabella Karabinas Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Psychology Goldwater Scholar
2019 Kyzer Gerez Nuclear Engineering  Goldwater Scholar
2018 Delaney Smith Biochemistry and Biophysics, Education Goldwater Scholar
2018 Kendra Jackson Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Honorable Mention
2017 Gregory "Mirek" Brandt Physics and Mathematics Goldwater Scholar
2017 True Gibson Biochemistry and Biophysics Goldwater Scholar
2017 Delaney Smith Biochemistry and Biophysics,
Honorable Mention
 2016  Brian Josephson  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Honorable Mention
 2016  Arianna Kahler-Quesada   Biochemistry and Biophysics  Honorable Mention
 2016  Alden Moss  Bioengineering   Honorable Mention
 2015  Miranda Raper  Bioengineering  Honorable Mention
 2014  Emily Cade  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Honorable Mention
 2013  Justin Zhang  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2013  Thomas Pitts  Mathematics  Goldwater Scholar
 2013  Helen Hobbs  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2013  James Rekow  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Honorable Mention
 2012  Annika Swanson  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2012  Alejandra Marquez Loza  Bioresource Research  Goldwater Scholar
 2011  Ishan Patel  Bioengineering   Goldwater Scholar
 2010  Caitlin Crimp  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2009  Elizabeth Dunfield  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2009  Charity Deatherage  Botany  Honorable Mention
 2009  Nick Lowery  Bioengineering, Biochemistry  Honorable Mention
 2009  Jenna Wilson  Bioengineering  Honorable Mention
 2007  Noah Strycker  Fisheries Resources  Goldwater Scholar
 2007  Katherine Bateman  Microbiology  Goldwater Scholar
 2007  Tony Rianprakaisang  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Honorable Mention
 2006  Taralyn Tan  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2006  Erin Reike  Bioengineering  Goldwater Scholar
 2006  Anahita Fallahi  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2005  Edmond O'Donnell, III  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2004  Nancy Lee  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2004  Heather Bolstad  Biochemistry and Biophysics  Goldwater Scholar
 2003  Mark Abel  Chemistry  Goldwater Scholar
 2003  Natalie Biggs    Goldwater Scholar
 2000  Thomas Young  Biology  Goldwater Scholar
 1998  Laura Anderson    Goldwater Scholar
 1996  Michael Anderson  Zoology  Goldwater Scholar
 1996  Nancy Eldin  Chemical Engineering  Goldwater Scholar
 1996  Aleta Groenig  Botany  Goldwater Scholar
 1995  Sum Yee Lai  Chemistry  Goldwater Scholar
 1995  Emily Ray    Goldwater Scholar
 1994  Janelle Moore    Goldwater Scholar
 1993  Nathan Dunfield  Mathematics  Goldwater Scholar
 1991  Amy Kimzey    Goldwater Scholar
 1991  Jennifer Sheperd    Goldwater Scholar