Critical Language Scholarship Program

Award Details 

Awarded for 8-10 weeks fully funded overseas foreign language instruction and cultural enrichment experience in 14 critical need languages for US students in higher education. 


  • US citizenship
  • Undergraduate or graduate student
  • No previous language study required for Azerbaijani, Bangla, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, Punjabi, Swahili, Turkish and Urdu
  • One year of previous language study required for Arabic, Persian and Portuguese
  • Two years of previous language study required for Chinese, Japanese, and Russian 
  • More information on eligibility

Application Timeline 

Deadline: November annually for language institute the following summer

OSU Contact 

LeAnn Adam
OSU Coordinator for Prestigious Scholarships